2020 Return to Middle Earth

Save the Date: Saturday, April 25, 2020 POSTPONED

On Thursday, March 12, New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo issued a statement banning gatherings of 500 people or more to aid in preventing the spread of COVID-19. As such, the April 25th performance of “Symphony No. 5: Return to Middle Earth” featuring the Buffalo Niagara Concert Band in collaboration with the Buffalo Philharmonic Chorus is postponed. The concert will be rescheduled; future date to be announced.

RTME ticket holders have the following options:

  • Retain your ticket for the rescheduled date
  • Refund your ticket purchase
  • Donate your tickets. Your tax-deductible donation today means that the next time you join the BNCB or BPC for a concert, we will be able to share the joy of live music with you once more

For assistance with any of the above, e-mail info@bncb.org.

The health and safety of our musicians, and our audiences, are our utmost priorities. From everyone at the BNCB and BPC families, be well, and thank you for your patience and understanding.

The Buffalo Niagara Concert Band in collaboration with the Buffalo Philharmonic Chorus invites you to a premiere performance of Johan de Meij’s newest composition: Symphony No.5 Return to Middle Earth.

After 30 years, composer Johan de Meij revisits Middle-Earth, the enchanting mythological world of J.R.R. Tolkien, with this symphony commissioned by The Middle Earth Commissioning Project, a consortium of five ensembles including the Buffalo Niagara Concert Band.

Although there are some thematic reminiscences to his monumental first symphony, The Lord of the Rings from 1988, De Meij is putting a completely different musical vibe into this new symphony. There is an important role for a solo soprano and a mixed choir: they sing in Ilkorin, one of the Elvish languages ​​of Middle-Earth. The Orcs and other thugs also take the stage, but they only use raw screams in their own language, also known as ‘black speech’.



  • Pre-order your tickets today (pre-orders will resume once reschedule date is announced)
  • VIP Ticket with Post-Concert Reception with the Composer, Band, and Chorus: $50 (limited to 250 seats)
  • General Admission Ticket: $20 (750 seats)


  • Discount $5 Event Parking in Hotel Ramp


Learn more:
> Johan de Meij
> Buffalo Philharmonic Chorus
> The Buffalo Grand
> Facebook Event Page